Lean Hard

“Child of My love, lean hard,
And let Me feel the pressure of thy care;
I know thy burden, child, I shaped it;
Poised it in My own hand, made no proportion in its weight to thine unaided strength;
For even as I laid it on, I said
I shall be near, and while he leans on Me,
This burden shall be Mine, not his;
So shall I keep My child within the circling arms of My own love.
Here lay it down, nor fear to impose it on a shoulder which upholds the government of worlds.
Yet closer come; thou art not near enough;
I would embrace thy care so I might feel My child reposing on My breast.
Thou lovest Me? I know it. Doubt not then;
But, loving Me, Lean Hard.”

~May Prentiss Smith

I have been battling my thoughts for a few weeks and this past Wednesday, I shared with a friend about this struggle. She encouraged me to take my burden to the Lord, to really draw close to Him. She referenced a poem someone had shared with her during a particularly trying time in her life, and yesterday she emailed it to me. I love it. I love it so much I just had to share it.

If you, like me, are struggling with something (thoughts, circumstances, or some other trial), I pray this will be an encouragement to you.

Take my yoke upon you, and learn of me; for I am meek and lowly in heart: and ye shall find rest unto your souls.  ~Matthew 11:29

Cast thy burden upon the Lord, and He shall sustain thee. ~Psalm 55:22

Leave a Reply

