Why Comparing Yourself to Another is So Dangerous

Wonder Woman

Wonder Woman. I know who she is- the wondrous woman with all her feminine beauty, ability, and strength. She is able to do it all. And not only that, she does it all with relative ease, grace, and style. She may be fictitious, but Wonder Woman is bringing me down!

The constant comparison of ourselves as women—wives, moms, sisters, friends—is slowly breaking apart relationships and causing barriers to exist where none should. Rather than edifying one another and looking to each other for encouragement, we are cautiously bracing ourselves for the next encounter, the next gathering, where we are left feeling defeated and unqualified for our respective callings.

Here’s what I mean: when I compare myself to another, I am always going to feel inadequate and incompetent. There are always going to be people in my life who are better at things than I am. I am not terribly creative. I am not into exercising. I don’t keep a spotless house. I don’t play with my kids as much as I should. I’m uptight. The list continues…

Thankfully, most people I know are not like me. That is not a bad thing (that’s a very good thing!). What is bad is when I compare myself to my friend (or neighbor or whomever) and try to emulate her life. It’s just not gonna work. I have 7 kids. There is no way I could ever find time to complete Pinterest projects, play with my kids, exercise, and keep up with the house all on a regular basis! And that’s okay. Or, at least it is from now on because I am done trying to be like Wonder Woman, trying to do it all.

Moms, who are you comparing yourself to? Who is it in your life that you secretly wish you could be more like? Stop wishing and focusing your energy on that person, and instead focus your time, talents, and attention doing more to be like Jesus. He is the One we are to emulate.

Christ beckons,

Come to Me, all you who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. ~ Matthew 11:28

The word “rest” used above means to recover, to collect strength. Jesus wants us to come to Him to seek refuge during the hard moments in our day.

Jesus also warns,

And whatever you do, do it heartily, as to the Lord and not to men, knowing that from the Lord you will receive the reward of the inheritance; for you serve the Lord Christ. ~ Colossians 3:23-24

So we have no reason to compare ourselves to anyone other than Jesus. The Lord is who will judge our actions and attitudes, motives, thoughts, and desires. If we are working so hard at trying to keep up with those around us, to be someone we’re not, we lose sight of our purpose and calling.

And that’s what happened to me, and that’s why comparing ourselves to another is so dangerous.

Leave a Reply

