Blueberry Muffins

20140228-162646.jpg

Although I wish I could take credit for this recipe, I cannot.  I found it a few years ago in a magazine in the waiting room of the pediatrician’s office.  I copied it down on a scrap piece of paper and it soon became my “go-to” muffin recipe.  It yields 24 large muffins and the topping just adds an extra element of flavor.

If you like to bake homemade gifts, you could also pour the batter into a loaf pan to make homemade blueberry bread.  This recipe also freezes well so go ahead and make a batch just for the freezer! I try to keep my freezer stocked so that when I have last minute (or unexpected!) company, I can offer a light refreshment over which to converse.

I hope you enjoy this recipe as much as my family does!

Muffin Ingredients
4c flour
4 tsp baking powder
½ tsp salt
1c butter, softened
1c granulated sugar
1c packed brown sugar
4 eggs
1c milk
2 tsp vanilla extract
2c (1pint) blueberries (fresh or frozen)

Topping Ingredients
2 tbsp granulated sugar
½ tsp nutmeg

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 375*.  For muffins, line paper muffin pan or grease with cooking spray. For bread, grease and flour loaf pan.
  2. In a medium bowl, combine flour, baking powder, and salt.
  3. In a large bowl, cream the butter and sugars with a mixer until fluffy. Add the eggs, one at a time. Next, add the milk and vanilla until combined.
  4. Slowly add half the flour mixture into the batter. Mix well, scraping the sides. Add the remaining dry ingredients into the wet until incorporated, scraping the sides again.
  5. Fold in the blueberries.
  6. Pour the batter into prepared pan.
  7. For the topping, combine the sugar and nutmeg in a small bowl.
  8. Sprinkle the topping over the muffins or bread.
  9. For muffins, bake for 20-25 minutes.  For bread, bake for 45-50 minutes. The center should be cooked through and the tops golden brown.
Leave a Reply

