Tips for Getting Your Family Out the Door on Time!

Guest post by Erin Bradley

This is the second post in a series written to help those who struggle to get out the door on time.  The first post contains tips to be implemented at night.

As a working mom with a swing schedule three days a week, it is imperative for my family to run as smoothly as possible.  Although I may not be able to be home some nights, or in the morning for that matter, I try to help my husband and children prepare for everything they will need for that evening or the next morning before school.  Some of my tips I have been implementing for a long time, and some I recently gathered from an amazing book I read titled The Get Yourself Organized Project: 21 Steps to Less Mess and Stress (2012) by Kathi Lipp.  When applied, they can definitely help you and your family get out the door a little quicker if your family struggles with getting to scheduled activities on time.

In the morning I try to wake up two hours before my leave time.  This gives me plenty of time to spend some alone time with God reading my Bible and devotionals while drinking coffee before really starting my day.  Quiet time with God is so crucial to the outcome of one’s day and should be made a priority. God and I time doesn’t have to take hours, even 15 minutes to half an hour can nourish your spirit and refresh your soul.  The more you learn about God, the more you learn to depend upon and trust Him in your daily struggles.

After getting myself ready, I begin the process of getting my girls ready.  A simple change that helped with my morning routine included setting out my girls’ toothbrushes, complete with toothpaste on them, so they are easily accessible when the girls come in to brush their teeth.

Another idea that has helped in my family is to stagger wake up times for the kids.  My oldest wakes up first, so she starts with breakfast.  When she finishes, I send her to the bathroom to get dressed and ready for the day.  Once completed, I get the baby up and change her diaper, have her eat breakfast, and brush her teeth all the while the oldest is making her bed and getting her shoes on.  My middle daughter loves to sleep in, so after the baby is situated, I will wake up my sleeping beauty and get her going.

After everyone is ready, I allow ten minutes just to get us all out the door and in the car.  An easy way to be sure you’re not running late is to set an alarm to signal when it’s time to begin the load up process.  If you have more than one child, then I’m sure you can relate to this exhausting process!  Our sleeping beauty runs in slow mode in the morning, so we normally get hung up waiting on her to get her coat and shoes on.  Instead of getting frustrated and making the rush more dramatic, I plan ample time for her to get herself prepared to get out the door.  I make the most of my time by buckling the other girls in the car while sleeping beauty finishes up inside.

Whether you are a stay-at-home mom or work outside the home, these simple tips can help get your morning off to a better start!

As a wife and working mother of three girls ages 6, 4, and 2, Erin Bradley enjoys embracing the many life experiences that come with raising young children.  Erin seeks to follow and serve the Lord daily while working hard to provide for the needs of her family. Finding new ways of organizing her home and simplifying different areas of her life has become one of her many passions to make more time for the important things.

Leave a Reply

